• News
  • Special District Election Results

Special District Election Results

By Raina Lucero

May 11, 2022

The Kiowa County special district elections were held by way of Mail-In Ballot on Tuesday, May 3rd for the Kiowa County Hospital District (KCHD) and the Kiowa County Fire Protection District (KCPFD). Both of the special tax districts are governed by a 5-person board of directors which are elected by the eligible voters of Kiowa County as well as the qualifying property owners.

Each district mailed more than 1500 ballots to electors and received more than 500 voted ballots back.

For the KCHD electors were to vote for not more than 2 candidates for a 3-year term and not more than 2 candidates for a 1-year term. The results from this election were:

  • Kenneth Duane Flory- 263
  • Charles Mathew Prince “Matt”-426
  • Karl Eikenberg- 289

Matt Prince and Karl Eikenberg will serve on the KCHD Board of Directors for a 3-year term.

  • Douglas K Uhland-426
  • Carol L McDowell JR.-132
  • Pamela Cole-426

Doug Uhland and Pam Cole will serve on the KCHD Board of Directors for a 1-year term

“I would like to thank the voters of Kiowa County for participating in the elections and for the vote of confidence you gave me and the other candidates. Weisbrod Memorial Hospital is a vital part of our future and I look forward to serving our community alongside the other KCHD Board Members.”- Matt Prince

“I would like to thank the people of Kiowa County for their votes. I am very honored to be elected to serve on this board. I am excited for the future of the hospital and how important it is for this County.”- Karl Eikenberg

“I would like to thank the community for putting their trust in me and am looking forward to working together with the rest of the board in making this hospital great again.” Doug Uhland

“I would like to thank everyone who put their trust in me to help guide the Kiowa County Hospital District into the future.” Pam Cole

Regarding the results, KCHD CEO Jeanette Filpi stated, “We were pleased with the turnout for the KCHD election. A special thanks to Beth Spady, our designated Election Official for facilitating the election to ensure deadlines were met as well as organizing additional assistance as needed. We want to express our sincere gratitude for the tireless time and commitment provided by our outgoing Board members in these past few months. Board service can be a very challenging volunteer experience. Each and every one of our members accepted this responsibility with grace and dedication. We are eager to welcome our new Board members. Each will bring a unique perspective to KCHD which will help guide our team in a positive way. We are excited about the wealth of knowledge and variety of experience that each new member will bring. We have already started planning for orientation and onboarding of our new Board members.”

Turning next to the KCFPD, electors were to vote for not more than 2 candidates for a 3-year term and not more than 1 candidate for a 1-year term. Those election results are:

  • Andrew McCracken (AJ)-304
  • Casey Sheridan-305
  • Dee LaMonte Billheimer (Monte)-257

AJ McCracken and Casey Sheridan will serve on the KCFPD Board of Directors for a 3-year term.

  • Eunice Weber-387

Eunice Weber who ran unopposed for a 1-year term will continue to serve on the KCFPD.

“Thank you for your continued support”- Eunice Weber

“Thank you, Kiowa County, for your continued support. I will do my best as I have done in the past to continue to help take the District Firefighters and Department in the forward direction and keeping them and the residents safe.” -AJ McCracken

Sheridan stated, “Thank you to all that voted. I appreciate your support and look forward to working on the fire district board.”

A statement from the KCFPD board of directors- “The Kiowa County Fire Protection District would like to thank the current members of the board who graciously served their terms and will be leaving us, their commitment to the community was substantial. We are very excited for the newcomers to join the board and be united in our dedication to serve the people of Kiowa County. The current dry weather and high winds has been keeping the fire stations as well as their volunteers busy and the board will continue to make swift, thoughtful decisions to continue to allow our volunteers to have the equipment and resources necessary to fight the fires that threaten the communities in Kiowa County.”

Each of the winners of the Special District elections will be sworn in at the next regularly scheduled meeting for their respective district. Kiowa County Hospital will meet May 24 at 6:30 pm in the meeting room at the Cobblestone Inn and Suite. The Kiowa County Fire Protection District will meet again Tuesday May 17 at 7 pm in the district classroom located at 1000 Maine Street Suite 100.

A word to those individuals who ran but did not gain enough votes to win, thank you for your interest in serving our community. It takes true courage to put oneself out on a limb even in a small community like ours. I say to you, though you did not reach the goal of winning the votes needed, continue to show up and show interest, always ask the tough questions, never give up.

Congratulations to the soon-to-be sworn in directors for the Kiowa County Hospital District and the Kiowa County Fire Protection District. May your dedication to our community shine through as you begin working with your fellow directors in navigating your respective districts into prosperity.

Perhaps Reverend Jesse Jackson said it best when he said,

“What we have to be judged by is the work we try to do. It is public service, not perfect service.”

Other News

© 2016 Kiowa County Independent 1316 Maine Street P.O. Box 272 Eads, CO 81036 | 719.438.2040